Do you accept the use of cookies to ensure a better experience on our website?

Learn more

Fair & associative

A new logo for tried and tested methods of collaboration

Since the summer of 2017, more than 30 products in the BIOG brand have carried the fair&associative label. This indicates the processing of high-end organic and biodynamic raw materials as well as a mutual collaboration “from field to fork”.

20190416_fairassociative

What does “associative” mean?

Almost all the produce passes through several hands before being tasted. The agricultural produce passes from producer to processing company, then from the wholesaler to the retailer, before finally ending up with the consumer. “Associative” means that all the value creation stakeholders come together during discussions on the current state of the market, i.e. they associate. For the companies in the OIKOPOLIS group, these discussions have been a matter of course since the beginning of the 1990s. Farmers, processors, retailers and consumer representatives organise a round table and exchange views on the quality of their commercial relationships. They discuss, among other things, growing methods, processing procedures, production conditions, climatic conditions and the setting of fair prices. The objective is not to maximise profits on just one side, but to arrive at a cooperation that is good for all commercial partners.

A new dimension in “fair trade”

The term “fair trade” often relates solely to trade with countries in the southern hemisphere. The relationship with local producers is reassessed less often, because one is working from the principle that organic equates to fair. However, this is not always the case, because neither the European label nor the national labels include social norms. It is also for this reason that mass organic products can be sold at a discount, which constitutes an existential threat to small producers in particular.

The right price

“Profit is made when you buy” is a commercial slogan that won't die and one which bears little relationship to associative collaboration. If a retailer buys too cheaply, he is doing business to the detriment of the preceding steps in value creation and, ultimately, the environment. A fair price must be sufficiently high for a product to be produced in conditions that are decent for humans, the animal world, and nature. It must also remain affordable for consumers. A price that is balanced on both sides is possible, particularly in an associative process.

“Fair & associative”: more than words...

...it’s a commitment to cooperation. Besides participating in discussions on the current state of the market, all the commercial partners who wish to display the fair&associative label must obtain certification, from an impartial institute, that they are serving the public good.

The precise conditions are set out in the charter for an associative economy. Despite its stringent demands, more and more companies are expressing their interest in becoming part of the fair&associative community of companies. Our customers will therefore be offered, in the future, a wider range of products produced and marketed under fair conditions from start to finish.

Runder Tisch

The value chains of fair&associative products

Value chain: soft cheese "BIOG Klenge Mëllen" / "BIOG Klenge Sténkert"

dropdown

The basic product in both BIOG Klenge Mëllen, the soft cheese with a white mould rind, and BIOG Klenge Sténkert, the cheese with a red mould rind, is fresh Demeter quality milk produced at the Kass-Haff farm in Rollingen/Mersch. In the BIOG farm cheese dairy at Kass-Haff the milk is inoculated with cheese cultures, in a traditional manner, to be processed into artisanal cheese. Ripened and packed, the cheese is picked up by the organic wholesaler BIOGROS and transported to the warehouse in Munsbach. Next, BIOGROS delivers the cheese to the retailers, where it can be bought by the consumers.

Those involved in this value chain are:

the Kass family and their employees, the cheese-makers from the Kass-Haff farm cheese dairy, the employees of BIOG, BIOGROS and NATURATA, and finally the cheese-loving consumers.

Value chain: curd cheese "BIOG Bio-Stoffi"

dropdown

The basic product in the curd cheese known as BIOG Bio-Stoffi is fresh Demeter quality milk produced at the Kass-Haff farm in Rollingen/Mersch. At the BIOG farm cheese dairy at Kass-Haff the milk is inoculated with cheese cultures, in a traditional manner. After a period of ripening, the curd is mixed until it reaches a creamy consistency, then poured into cups. Lastly, the packaged curd cheese is picked up by the organic wholesaler BIOGROS and transported to the warehouse in Munsbach. BIOGROS delivers the "Stoffi" to the retailers, where it can be bought by the consumers.

Those involved in this value chain are:

the Kass family and their employees, the cheese-makers from the Kass-Haff farm cheese dairy, the employees of BIOG, BIOGROS and NATURATA, and finally the consumers.

Value chain: cheese "BIOG Éisleker Kéis"

dropdown

(natural, low-fat, bell pepper, garlic, pepper, fine herbs, mustard)

The basic product in the Éisleker Kéis cheese (in portions, sliced, or cubed) is the fresh Demeter quality milk produced at Schanck-Haff in Hupperdange. In the BIOG farm cheese dairy at Schanck-Haff, this milk is inoculated with cheese cultures, in a traditional manner, refined with herbs and spices, then traditionally processed into cheese. Lastly, the ripe cheese is picked up by the organic wholesaler BIOGROS and transported to the warehouse in Munsbach. The cheese is cut and packed in the BIOGROS Cuisine Artisanale then delivered to the retailers, where it can be bought by the consumers.

Those involved in this value chain are:

the Schanck family and their employees, the cheese-makers from the Schanck-Haff BIOG farm cheese dairy, the employees of BIOG, the Cuisine Artisanale, BIOGROS and NATURATA, and finally the cheese-loving consumers.

Value chain: ice cream "BIOG Bio-Glace"

dropdown

vanilla, strawberry & vanilla, coffee, chocolate

The main ingredient in the BIOG ice cream is fresh organic milk. It comes from our organic dairy farms in Luxembourg, which sell their milk to the Luxembourg organic farmers’ cooperative (BIOG). In the BIOG dairy in Bascharage, the milk and cream (obtained from the milk) are pasteurised then processed into ice cream by adding cane sugar, vanilla, cocoa or coffee powder. Filled into 1.1-litre tubs, the organic ice cream is stored in the dairy’s freezer temporarily, before finally being delivered to the retailer by La Provençale and Linkgel, which have refrigerated lorries.

Those involved in this value chain are:

the BIOG dairy farmers, the employees of BIOG and the BIOG-Molkerei dairy, the employees of La Provençale and Linkgel, the employees of the NATURATA Bio Marchés and finally the consumers.

Value chain: BIOG fresh milk

dropdown

The fresh organic whole milk comes from eleven Luxembourgish organic dairy farms that sell their milk to the Bio-Bauere-Genossenschaft Lëtzebuerg (BIOG). At the BIOG dairy in Bascharage, the milk is pasteurised and homogenised and filled into reclosable packages. The milk is temporarily stored in the dairy's refrigerated room and is then delivered by BIOGROS to the retail trade. The whole milk has a natural fat content of 3,8 percent and the BIOG semi-skimmed milk has a fat content of 1.5 percent.

BIOG organic chocolate milk: At the BIOG dairy in Bascharage, the milk is mixed with fair trade raw cane sugar and fair trade cocoa powder, pasteurised and filled into reclosable packages. The chocolate milk is temporarily stored in the dairy's refrigerated room and is finally delivered by BIOGROS to the retail trade.

Those involved in this value chain are:

the BIOG dairy farmers, the employees of BIOG, the BIOG-Molkerei and BIOGROS, the employees of the NATURATA Bio Marchés and finally the consumers.

Value chain: BIOG fresh cream

dropdown

BIOG organic cream is made from fresh organic milk that comes from eleven Luxembourgish organic dairy farms that sell their milk to the Bio-Bauere-Genossenschaft Lëtzebuerg (BIOG). At the BIOG dairy in Bascharage, the cream is separated from the milk, is pasteurised and filled into reclosable packages. BIOGROS in Munsbach is responsible for the distribution of the organic cream to the retail trade.

Those involved in this value chain are:

the BIOG dairy farmers, the employees of BIOG, the BIOG-Molkerei and BIOGROS, the employees of the NATURATA Bio Marchés and finally the consumers.

Value chain: BIOG yoghurt

dropdown

BIOG organic yoghurt is made from fresh organic milk from eleven Luxembourg organic dairy farms that sell their milk to the Bio-Bauere-Genossenschaft Lëtzebuerg (BIOG). At the BIOG dairy in Bascharage, the fresh milk is inoculated with lactic acid bacteria to produce a natural yoghurt. This yoghurt is mixed with a fruit preparation and filled into yoghurt pots. The organic yoghurts are then distributed to retailers via BIOGROS.

Those involved in this value chain are:

the BIOG dairy farmers, the employees of BIOG, the BIOG-Molkerei and BIOGROS, the employees of the NATURATA Bio Marchés and finally the consumers.

Value chain: BIOG Demeter eggs

dropdown

The BIOG Demeter eggs come exclusively from the biodynamically farm of the Meyers-Weis family from Windhof. The eggs are packaged on the farm itself and brought to the warehouse in Munsbach by BIOGROS. From here BIOGROS delivers the BIOG Demeter eggs to the NATURATA shops, where they can be purchased by consumers.

Those involved in this value chain are:

the farmer Guy Meyers and his employees, the employees of BIOG, BIOGROS and NATURATA and finally the consumers.

Value chain: BIOG potatoes

dropdown

Organic potatoes from the organic farm Fischbach in Enscherange and Demeter potatoes from Schanck-Haff in Hupperdange are offered under the BIOG brand. The range includes amongst others the varieties Nicola, Charlotte and Désirée. The potatoes are filled into paper bags at BIOGROS in Munsbach and then marketed. The BIOG potatoes are also packaged ready for use in the Cuisine Artisanale for the needs of professional kitchens and the gastronomy sector or used to produce BIOG ready-to-eat meals, such as BIOG potato puree.

Those involved in this value chain are:

The Fischbach and Schanck families and their employees, the employees of BIOGROS and NATURATA, and finally, the consumers.

Value chain: BIOG carrots

dropdown

Organic carrots from the Fischbach organic farm in Enscherange and Demeter carrots from Schanck-Haff in Hupperdange are offered under the BIOG brand. After harvesting, the carrots are stored on the farm, washed and sorted. At BIOGROS in Munsbach they are finally packed in bags and are then sold to retailers. The carrots are also packaged ready for use in the Cuisine Artisanale for the needs of professional kitchens and the gastronomy sector or used to produce BIOG ready-to-eat meals.

Those involved in this value chain are:

The Fischbach and Schanck families and their employees, the employees of BIOGROS and NATURATA, and finally, the consumers.

Value chain: BIOG fruit

dropdown

Since 2013, BIOGROS has been supplying the retailers with apples and pears, but also with various stone fruit varieties, from the Latz fruit plantation in neighbouring Saarland. Since 1997, this orchard on the southern slope of the Hoxberg has been cultivated by the brothers Christian and Johannes Latz according to the guidelines of biodynamic agriculture. BIOGROS discusses the annual purchase quantities with the fruit growers and accepts that the harvest is highly dependent on weather conditions. BIOGROS distributes the fruit to the retailers and so the fruit finally end up in the fruit bowls of the consumers.

Those involved in this value chain are:

Christian and Johannes Latz and their employees, the employees of BIOGROS and NATURATA, and finally, the consumers.

Value chain: BIOG Gazpacho

dropdown

The fruity BIOG Gazpacho is produced - like all other BIOG tomato products - by the family business Cal Valls in Catalonia. Sun-ripened tomatoes are the main ingredient in this light summer soup. The cooperation with Cal Valls started in 2005 and is based on mutual understanding and fair cooperation. This cooperation guarantees the family business a further, permanent buyer for the home-produced tomato products and BIOG/BIOGROS a reliable producer and supplier of high-quality organic food.

Those involved in this value chain are:

The Valls family and their employees, the employees of BIOGROS and NATURATA and finally, the consumers.

Acceptez-vous l'utilisation de cookies pour vous assurer une meilleure expérience sur notre site web ?

En savoir plus

Fair & associative

Un nouveau logo pour des modes de collaboration éprouvés

Depuis l'été 2017, plus de 30 produits de la marque BIOG portent le label fair&associative. Celui-ci indique la transformation de matières premières biologiques et biodynamiques haut de gamme ainsi qu'une collaboration solidaire «de la fourche à la fourchette».

20190416_fairassociative

Que signifie « associatif » ?

Presque tous les produits passent par plusieurs mains avant d'être dégustés. Le produit agricole passe du producteur à l'entreprise de transformation, puis du grossiste au commerçant de détail pour, enfin, finir chez le consommateur. « Associatif » signifie que tous les acteurs de la création de valeur se réunissent lors de discussions sur l'actualité du marché, c'est-à-dire qu'ils s'associent. Pour les entreprises du groupe OIKOPOLIS, ces discussions sont une évidence depuis le début des années 90. Les agriculteurs, transformateurs, commerçants et représentants des consommateurs organisent une table ronde et échangent sur la qualité de leurs relations commerciales. Ils discutent, entre autres, de méthodes de culture, de modalités de transformation, de conditions de production, de conditions climatiques et de fixation de prix équitables. L'objectif n'est pas de maximiser les profits d'un seul côté, mais d'arriver à une coopération dans le cadre de laquelle tous les partenaires commerciaux trouvent leur compte.

Une nouvelle dimension du « commerce équitable »

Le terme « commerce équitable » se rapporte souvent uniquement au commerce avec les pays du Sud. La relation avec les producteurs locaux est moins souvent remise en question, puisqu'on part du principe que bio équivaut à équitable. Ce n'est pourtant pas toujours le cas, car ni le label européen ni les labels nationaux n'incluent de normes sociales. C'est également pour cette raison que les produits biologiques de masse peuvent être vendus à prix discount, ce qui constitue une menace existentielle notamment pour les petits producteurs.

Le juste prix

« Le profit se fait à l'achat » est une devise commerçante qui a la peau dure et qui a peu de rapport avec la collaboration associative. Si un commerçant achète trop bon marché, il fait des affaires au détriment des étapes précédentes de la création de valeur et, au bout du compte, de l'environnement. Un prix équitable doit être suffisamment élevé pour qu'un produit puisse être fabriqué dans des conditions dignes pour l'homme, le monde animal et la nature. Il doit également rester abordable pour les consommateurs et consommatrices. Un prix équilibré de part et d'autre est surtout possible dans un processus associatif.

« Fair & associative » : au-delà des mots...

...un engagement à la coopération. Outre participer aux discussions sur l'actualité du marché, tous les partenaires commerciaux qui souhaitent afficher le label fair&associative doivent faire attester leur orientation vers l'intérêt public par un institut neutre.

Les conditions précises sont inscrites dans la « Charte pour une économie associative ». Malgré ses exigences élevées, de plus en plus d'entreprises expriment leur intérêt à intégrer la communauté des entreprises fair&associative. Nos clientes et clients se verront ainsi proposer à l'avenir une plus large palette de produits fabriqués et commercialisés dans des conditions équitables du début à la fin.

Runder Tisch

Les chaînes de valeur des produits "fair&associative"

Chaîne de valeur: fromages BIOG "Klenge Mëllen" et "Klenge Sténkert"

dropdown

Le produit de base du fromage à pâte molle et à croûte fleurie blanche "BIOG Klenge Mëllen" ainsi que du fromage à croûte fleurie rouge "BIOG Klenge Sténkert" est le lait frais de qualité Demeter produit au Kass-Haff à Rollingen/Mersch. Dans la fromagerie fermière BIOG, installée au Kass-Haff, le lait est inoculé de manière traditionnelle avec des cultures de fromage pour être transformé en fromage artisanal. Affiné et emballé, le fromage est enlevé par le grossiste bio BIOGROS et est transporté à l'entrepôt à Munsbach. Par la suite, BIOGROS livre le fromage aux détaillants, où il peut être acheté par les consommateurs.

Dans cette chaîne de valeur sont impliqués:

famille Kass et ses employés, les fromagers de la fromagerie fermière du Kass-Haff, les employés de BIOG, de BIOGROS et de NATURATA et finalement les consommateurs, amateurs de fromage.

Chaîne de valeur: fromage blanc BIOG

dropdown

Le produit de base du fromage blanc "BIOG Bio-Stoffi" est le lait frais de qualité Demeter produit au Kass-Haff à Rollingen/Mersch. A la fromagerie fermière BIOG, située au Kass-Haff, ce lait est inoculé de façon traditionnelle avec des cultures fromagères. Après un certain temps d'affinage, le caillé est mélangé jusqu'à obtention d'une consistance crémeuse puis versé dans des gobelets. Le fromage blanc emballé est finalement enlevé par le grossiste bio BIOGROS et transporté à l'entrepôt à Munsbach. BIOGROS livre le fromage blanc BIOG aux détaillants, où il peut être acheté par les consommateurs.

Dans cette chaîne de valeur sont impliqués:

famille Kass et ses employés, les fromagers de la fromagerie fermière du Kass-Haff, les employés de BIOG, de BIOGROS et de NATURATA et finalement les consommateurs.

Chaîne de valeur: fromage BIOG

dropdown

(nature, partiellement écrémé, poivron, ail, poivre, fines herbes, moutarde)

Le produit de base du fromage "Éisleker Kéis" (en morceau, en tranches, en dés) est le lait frais de qualité Demeter produit au Schanck-Haff à Hupperdange. Dans la fromagerie fermière BIOG, installée au Schanck-Haff, ce lait est inoculé de manière traditionnelle avec des cultures fromagères, affiné avec des herbes et des épices, puis transformé de façon artisanale en fromage. Le fromage affiné est finalement enlevé par le grossiste bio BIOGROS et transporté à l'entrepôt à Munsbach. Le fromage est coupé et emballé dans la Cuisine Artisanale de BIOGROS puis livré au commerce de détail. Ici, il peut être acheté par les consommateurs.

Dans cette chaîne de valeur sont impliqués:

famille Schanck et ses employés, les fromagers de la fromagerie fermière BIOG du Schanck-Haff, les employés de BIOG, de la Cuisine Artisanale, de BIOGROS et de NATURATA et finalement les consommateurs, amateurs de fromage.

Chaîne de valeur: crème glacée BIOG

dropdown

à la vanille, fraise-vanille, au café, au chocolat

Le principal ingrédient de la crème glacée BIOG est du lait frais biologique. Il provient de onze fermes laitières biologiques et luxembourgeoises qui vendent leur lait à la coopérative des agriculteurs biologiques du Luxembourg (BIOG). Dans la laiterie BIOG à Bascharage, le lait et la crème (obtenue à partir du lait) sont pasteurisés puis transformés en crème glacée en ajoutant du sucre de canne, de la vanille, du cacao ou du café en poudre. Remplie dans des boîtes de 1,1 litres, la glace bio est temporairement stockée dans le congélateur de la laiterie pour être finalement livrée au commerce de détail par La Provençale et Linkgel, qui disposent de camions réfrigérés.

Dans cette chaîne de valeur sont impliqués:

les fermiers laitiers BIOG, les employés de BIOG et de la laiterie "BIOG-Molkerei", les employés de "La Provençale" et de "Linkgel", les employés des NATURATA Bio Marchés et finalement les consommateurs.

Chaîne de valeur: lait BIOG

dropdown

Le lait entier frais provient de onze fermes laitières biologiques luxembourgeoises qui vendent leur lait à la coopérative des agriculteurs biologiques du Luxembourg (BIOG). A la laiterie BIOG-Molkerei à Bascharage, le lait est pasteurisé, homogénéisé et conditionné en emballages refermables. Le lait est ensuite stocké temporairement dans la chambre froide de la laiterie puis livré par BIOGROS au commerce de détail. Le lait entier a une teneur naturelle en matières grasses de 3,8 pour cent. Il existe également une version demi-écrémée avec 1,5 % de matières grasses.

Pour la production du lait chocolaté BIOG, le lait est mélangé avec du sucre de canne et de la poudre de cacao équitables avant d'être pasteurisé et conditionné en briques refermables de 500 ml.

Dans cette chaîne de valeur sont impliqués:

Les fermiers laitiers BIOG, les employés de la BIOG et de la laiterie "BIOG-Molkerei", les employés de BIOGROS et de NATURATA et les consommateurs.

Chaîne de valeur: crème BIOG

dropdown

La crème BIOG est fabriquée à partir de lait frais biologique provenant de onze fermes laitières biologiques luxembourgeoises qui vendent leur lait à la coopérative des agriculteurs biologiques du Luxembourg (BIOG). A la laiterie BIOG-Molkerei à Bascharage, la crème est séparée du lait, pasteurisée et conditionnée en emballages refermables de 500 ml. BIOGROS à Munsbach distribue la crème biologique aux détaillants.

Dans cette chaîne de valeur sont impliqués:

Les fermiers laitiers BIOG, les employés de la BIOG et de la laiterie
"BIOG-Molkerei", les employés de BIOGROS et de NATURATA et les
consommateurs.

Chaîne de valeur: yaourt BIOG

dropdown

Le yaourt biologique BIOG est fabriqué à partir de lait frais bio provenant de onze fermes laitières biologiques luxembourgeoises qui vendent leur lait à la coopérative des agriculteurs biologiques du Luxembourg (BIOG). A la laiterie BIOG-Molkerei à Bascharage, le lait frais est inoculé avec des bactéries lactiques pour produire du yaourt nature. Celui-ci est mélangé à une préparation de fruits puis mis en pots. Les yaourts biologiques sont distribués aux détaillants par le grossiste bio BIOGROS.

Dans cette chaîne de valeur sont impliqués:

Les fermiers laitiers BIOG, les employés de la BIOG et de la laiterie
"BIOG-Molkerei", les employés de BIOGROS et de NATURATA et les
consommateurs.

Chaîne de valeur: BIOG oeufs Demeter

dropdown

Les œufs BIOG Demeter proviennent exclusivement de la ferme biodynamique de la famille Meyers-Weis à Windhof. Les œufs sont emballés à la ferme et transportés par BIOGROS à l'entrepôt à Munsbach. Les œufs BIOG Demeter sont finalement distribués par BIOGROS aux magasins NATURATA, où ils peuvent être achetés par les consommateurs.

Dans cette chaîne de valeur sont impliqués:

Le fermier Guy Meyers et ses employés, les employés de BIOG, de BIOGROS et de NATURATA et finalement, les consommateurs.

Chaîne de valeur: pommes de terre BIOG

dropdown

La marque BIOG propose des pommes de terre bio de la ferme Fischbach à Enscherange et des pommes de terre de qualité Demeter de la ferme Schanck à Hupperdange. Chez BIOGROS à Munsbach, les pommes de terre des variétés Nicola, Charlotte, Désirée ou autres sont conditionnées dans des sacs en papier puis sont distribuées aux détaillants. La Cuisine Artisanale prépare cependant les pommes de terre pour les besoins des grandes cuisines et restaurants et les utilise comme ingrédient des plats cuisinés BIOG, comme p.ex. la purée de pommes de terre.

Dans cette chaîne de valeur sont impliqués:

Les familles Fischbach et Schanck et leurs employés, les employés de BIOGROS et de NATURATA et finalement, les consommateurs.

Chaîne de valeur: carottes BIOG

dropdown

La marque BIOG propose des carottes bio de la ferme Fischbach à Enscherange et des carottes de qualité Demeter de la ferme Schanck à Hupperdange. Après la récolte, les carottes sont stockées, lavées et triées à la ferme. Chez BIOGROS à Munsbach, elles sont finalement emballées dans des sacs et distribuées aux détaillants. Pour les besoins des grandes cuisines et la restauration, les carottes sont emballées prêtes à l'emploi à la Cuisine Artisanale qui les utilise également comme ingrédient des plats préparés BIOG.

Dans cette chaîne de valeur sont impliqués:

Les familles Fischbach et Schanck et leurs employés, les employés de BIOGROS et de NATURATA et finalement, les consommateurs.

Chaîne de valeur: fruits BIOG

dropdown

Depuis 2013, BIOGROS approvisionne le commerce en pommes et poires, mais aussi en fruits à noyau, cultivés en Sarre, aux vergers des frères Latz. Depuis 1997, Christian et Johannes Latz cultivent leur vergers, localisés sur le versant sud du Hoxberg, selon les principes de l'agriculture biodynamique. BIOGROS discute les quantités annuelles achetées, avec les fruiticulteurs, en tenant compte du fait que la récolte dépend fortement de la météo. Les fruits sont distribués par BIOGROS aux détaillants et se retrouvent finalement dans la corbeille à fruits des consommateurs.

Dans cette chaîne de valeur sont impliqués:

Christian et Johannes Latz et leurs employés, les employés de BIOGROS et de NATURATA et finalement, les consommateurs.

Chaîne de valeur: BIOG Gazpacho

dropdown

Le gazpacho BIOG au goût fruité est produit, comme tous les autres produits BIOG à base de tomates, par l'entreprise familiale Cal Valls en Catalogne. Des tomates mûries au soleil sont le principal ingrédient de cette soupe d'été légère. La coopération avec Cal Valls existe depuis 2005 et repose sur une compréhension mutuelle et une collaboration équitable. Cette coopération garantit à l'entreprise familiale un autre client stable et à BIOG/BIOGROS un producteur et fournisseur fiable de produits biologiques de haute qualité.

Dans cette chaîne de valeur sont impliqués:

La famille Valls et ses employés, les employés de BIOGROS et de NATURATA et finalement les consommateurs.